Databases
Google vs. Databases
How To Access the Library's Databases
For a complete list of the Library's Databases, visit www.ctcd.edu/academics/library/databases/
1. Please do not use Blackboard, instructor supplied links, or other sites for access. If possible, avoid using a military, government, or employer's computer or email address.
2. Open a new window in Firefox or Chrome to reach http://www.ctcd.edu and click the Academics link at the top of the page. Then click the Library link.
3. From the Library's homepage, select Databases.
4. Databases are arranged alphabetically by title, or by subject categories.
5. Click on the category that will best meet your searching needs to view databases for that subject area.
6. When you click on a database you will be redirected to a log-in page. Please follow the log-on instructions.
7. If you require further assistance, please contact the library at 254-526-1621.
Databases for Hospitality
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowProquest Ebook Central is your resource for eBooks providing breadth and depth of authoritative content.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowEbsco E-Book Collection contains full-text books covering many academic subject areas and popular topics.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand contains educational streaming videos from Films Media Group. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their collection through a robust administrative reporting system.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context covers social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop information literacy, critical thinking skills, and the confidence to draw their own valid conclusions.
Tips for Searching Databases
- Selecting a Database
The Library’s database page is divided into categories by subject area. There are also categories for general resources and reference. Hover over any database on the library’s webpage to view a description of its contents. In selecting a database, consider what type of information you are hoping to find. Some databases contain scholarly journal articles; others contain films and videos. Some databases provide news sources and reference articles; others contain a variety of information in a variety of formats. Try searching different databases with different content types for the best results.
- Using and Combining Keywords
Before you begin searching, brainstorm keywords and combinations of keywords that are related to your topic. Think about which aspects of the topic interest you. For example, if your topic is Climate Change you may be interested in the science behind climate or, you may be more focused on political aspects. You can combine keywords to refine your results and make your searching more effective.
- Refining your Results
Most databases have options that allow you to narrow your search results. Some examples to look for include:
Source type- This can help if you want to limit your search to academic or peer reviewed journals.
Publication Date- Chance are, you want the most current information on your topic. Usually, you can select a date range. This helps you weed out old information that is no longer relevant.
Language/Geographic Region-Sometimes your results list can get bogged down with articles published in another country or written in a different language.
- Tools and Features
Many databases have tools that can help you organize your research and save your results. Look for tools that allow you to:
- Download/Save
- Cite
- Export