Internet Resources
Associations and Organizations for Radio and Television Broadcasting
- National Association of BroadcastersThe National Association of Broadcasters is the voice for the nation's radio and television broadcasters. As the premier trade association for broadcasters, NAB advances the interests of our members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improves the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encourages content and technology innovation; and spotlights the important and unique ways stations serve their communities.
- Texas Association of BroadcastersTAB strives to promote and protect a favorable economic and regulatory climate for broadcasting and educate members and the public at large about the opportunities available and advances possible through the efforts of free, over-the-air broadcast operations.
- The Society of Broadcast EngineersThe Society of Broadcast Engineers is the professional organization of television and radio engineers and those in related fields. The SBE has more than 5,000 members in 115 chapters across the United States and in Hong Kong. There are also members in more than 30 other countries. Most chapters meet monthly and offer educational programs and an opportunity to network with other broadcast technical professionals. SBE offers the preeminent technical broadcast certification program in the U.S. and an expansive list of educational programs for broadcast engineers, operators, technicians, and broadcast IT professionals.
- International Radio & Television SocietyThe IRTS Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization with a membership that ranges from the most accomplished professionals in the media and entertainment business to those who are just beginning their careers. It evolved from an organization founded in 1939 that established a charitable arm in 1964 that grew into the IRTS as it exists today. Long recognized as the International Radio and Television Society Foundation, we were founded as a common forum for for all aspects of electronic media. In today’s DIGITAL world that also includes Internet, Mobile, Publishing, Advertising and more. As you see from our new logo, we now leverage the historical strength of our call letters, drop the dated longhand, and put the focus on our mission: BUILDING FUTURE MEDIA LEADERS. We have had a rich history of providing education and dialogue about important communication issues for more than seven decades! Back in the early days, IRTS was one of the few places you would find professionals from competitive sectors of business in a common forum where competitive barriers were dropped in favor of a common cause. Today, that common forum is more important than ever as the lines continue to blur between traditional media business silos in a digital age.
Informative Websites for Radio and Television Broadcasting
- Pew Research Center Journalism & MediaAn initiative by journalists from all media to clarify and raise the standards of American journalism. An unbiased and reliable research organization for matters related to journalism and media. Contains data for different mediums of access to media.
- Broadcasting & CableBroadcasting and Cable (B&C), is the leading voice of the television industry, serving the broadcast, cable and program syndication communities on a weekly basis. B&C’s editorial covers the entire spectrum of broadcast, cable, satellite, telco, advertising, multimedia, broadband, and other emerging technologies. It provides its readers and advertisers with a trusted, authoritative and respected environment to build their brands and enhance their position in the marketplace. B&C’s readers include executives at TV stations, TV networks, cable systems and networks, major media companies, ad agencies, packaged goods manufacturers and professionals in the government sector related to the television industry including Congress and the FCC. In addition to a weekly publication serving more than 23,500 subscribers, B&C also delivers electronics news through its website broadcastingcable.com, plus a daily e-mail newsletter, as well as multiple category specific e-mail newsletters.
Informative Websites for Radio and Television Broadcasting
- How to Apply for a Radio or Television Broadcast StationThe Federal Communications Commission guide for applying for and obtaining a radio or television broadcasting station.
- Federal Communications CommissionThe Federal Communications Commission is the radio and television monitoring organization. The website offers many resources for those in the radio and television broadcasting fields. Resources include but are not limited to: Proceedings & Actions, Licensing, Databases, Reports & Research, News, and blogs.
- Film SoundFilmSound is a highly useful resource for sound design. Glossaries, articles, techniques, and sound theory are just a few of the items available for research.
- Museum of Broadcast CommunicationsThe Museum of Broadcast Communications website offers an online encyclopedia of television, on accessible National Radio Hall of Fame archive, and resources for instructing under the Common Core among other resources.
Informative Websites for Speech in Radio and Television Broadcasting
- Famous Speeches in HistoryFamous Speeches in History by History.com offers many different speeches for evaluation. Users can search by person, event, or time period to find a famous speech to research.
- Types of SpeechTypes of Speech by ChangingMinds.org offers a quick recap of the different types of speeches. Descriptions include details such as the length of a type of speech and the type of information to include in different speeches.
- Public Speaking TipsPublic Speaking Tips by Toastmaster.org offers a host of tips for becoming a great public speaker as well as for overcoming the fear of public speaking.
- Before Public SpeakingBefore Public Speaking is a playlist of TED Talks. The playlist contains 9 videos, or talks, on public speaking.
Campus Information for Radio and Television Broadcasting Students
- Radio and Television Broadcasting WebpageCTC's Radio and Television Broadcasting department's website offers resources for students. Resources include gainful employment analysis of careers in radio and television broadcasting, tuition costs for the program, and degree and certification information.
New Databases
CTC students, staff and faculty can use the Library Databases
https://www.ctcd.edu/academics/library/databases/
Starting August 30, we will be switching to new databases - Gale
Instructions to Find Gale Resources
- Hit Databases
- Hit General Resources
- Hit Gale Product Menu
- At some point you will hit a log in page. Follow instructions on that page to log in.
- Gale Academic OneFile is the broadest database
- Other databases on that page are more specific
- Gale Product MenuA broad database with many subjects. Gale Academic OneFile is the broadest database, while the others specialize in a subject.
Evaluating Websites
When researching, especially using internet sources, it is a good idea to evaluate the information to make sure it is “good” information. Making this determination can be difficult and often depends on the original purpose of the information and how you intend to use it.
How will I know?
One way to evaluate information is to use the CRAAP Test:
Currency: Timeliness
Pay attention to when the information was created or published. Is the information still current or is it outdated? Depending on your topic older sources of information may still be acceptable, in other cases it may not.
Relevance: Importance
Relevance means how the information relates to your topic. Who is the intended audience of the information? Students, professional, experts?
Authority: Source
Who created or authored the information? What company or organization operates/maintains the website? What are the credentials of the author, are they an expert or professional?
Accuracy: Reliability
Is the information factual correct? Are there other types of errors, such as grammar or spelling mistakes? Can you verify the information from other sources? Is the information biased?
Purpose: Reason
What is the goal of the information? Is it to persuade, teach, or sell? Does the information rely on facts and data, or opinion? Is it written with a political or religious agenda?
CRAAP test is adapted from the Meriam Library at California State University Chico