The Library’s database page is divided into categories by subject area. There are also categories for general resources and reference. Hover over any database on the library’s webpage to view a description of its contents. In selecting a database, consider what type of information you are hoping to find. Some databases contain scholarly journal articles; others contain films and videos. Some databases provide news sources and reference articles; others contain a variety of information in a variety of formats. Try searching different databases with different content types for the best results.
Before you begin searching, brainstorm keywords and combinations of keywords that are related to your topic. Think about which aspects of the topic interest you. For example, if your topic is Climate Change you may be interested in the science behind climate or, you may be more focused on political aspects. You can combine keywords to refine your results and make your searching more effective.
Most databases have options that allow you to narrow your search results. Some examples to look for include:
Source type- This can help if you want to limit your search to academic or peer reviewed journals.
Publication Date- Chance are, you want the most current information on your topic. Usually, you can select a date range. This helps you weed out old information that is no longer relevant.
Language/Geographic Region-Sometimes your results list can get bogged down with articles published in another country or written in a different language.
Many databases have tools that can help you organize your research and save your results. Look for tools that allow you to:
Understanding the categories of aviation: Business, commercial, and general. (2023, August 21). AirGuide Business, NA. https://link-gale-com.ezproxy.ctcd.edu/apps/doc/A762713733/GPS?u=txshracd2491&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=7b7f7c7f
Aviation is a diverse field with three main categories: business aviation, commercial aviation, and general aviation. Each category has distinct purposes and covers a wide range of aircraft and services. This article will explore general aviation in detail and compare it with business and commercial aviation to highlight their differences, applications, and significance within the aviation industry.
Database: Gale OneFile: Business
The Significance of background checks in aviation recruitment. (2023, August 16). AirGuide Business, NA. https://link-gale-com.ezproxy.ctcd.edu/apps/doc/A761651030/GPS?u=txshracd2491&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=2c4e8c4e
In the aviation industry, government-mandated background checks are an integral part of ensuring safety and security across various roles and positions.
Safety and security are paramount in aviation, encompassing aircraft certifications, pilot and mechanic training, and operational efficiency. Alongside these measures, comprehensive background checks are a crucial requirement for individuals involved in aviation-related roles. From pilots and flight attendants to mechanics and airport staff, this screening process plays a vital role in establishing a dependable and secure aviation workforce.
Database: Gale OneFile:Business
NASA advances commercial aviation towards supersonic passenger planes. (2023, August 25). AirGuide Business, NA. https://link-gale-com.ezproxy.ctcd.edu/apps/doc/A762713893/GPS?u=txshracd2491&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=96ea6c1a
It's been two decades since the cost-prohibitive Concorde supersonic passenger jet was retired from service, taking the possibility of transatlantic flight at supersonic speeds off the table for even the wealthiest of travelers.
But, crossing the pond at up to four times as fast may become a possibility again in the not-too-distant future, given that the ultimate aerospace authority, NASA, has just published an updated look at the evolution of its "high-speed strategy", namely its Quiet Supersonic Technology (Quesst) program.
Database: Gale OneFile: Business
Chelioti, K. H., Tsaimou, C. N., & Tsoukala, V. K. (2023). Unmanned aerial vehicles: A survey on monitoring advancements for port infrastructure applications. Journal of Engineering, Project, and Production Management, 13(3), NA. https://link-gale-com.ezproxy.ctcd.edu/apps/doc/A762928026/GPS?u=txshracd2491&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=e5946b65
Ports play a significant role in the economic and social activities of the areas they serve. However, the adverse effects of the harsh and highly corrosive environments that ports operate in, along with phenomena related to the climate crisis and insufficient maintenance practices, increase port infrastructure's susceptibility to rapid degradation.
Keywords: Non-destructive techniques; port infrastructure; remote sensing; structural monitoring; unmanned aerial vehicle
Database: Gale Academic OneFile
Kowalska, G., Hawlena, J., & Rowinski, R. (2023). Determinants of air transport development. European Research Studies, 26(1), 108+. https://link-gale-com.ezproxy.ctcd.edu/apps/doc/A740304263/GPS?u=txshracd2491&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=f241eefb
The study aims to systematize the most important events and processes that determined the progress in the development of air transport. It serves to clarify the research methodology, the importance of globalization and competition, relationships, stimulators and alliances in the process of gaining advantages on the passenger air transport market.
Keywords: Air transport, globalization, alliances, ancillary revenues.
Database: Gale OneFile: Business