Skip to main content

Economics: Introduction

Guide to economics resources at Central Texas College

We Can Help

Library Hours

Monday-Thursday

7:30 AM-10:00 PM

Friday

7:30 AM-7:30 PM

Saturday-Sunday

12:30 PM-7:30 PM

Chat with a Librarian

Email a Librarian

Find us on Facebook

Getting Started

This guide is an introduction to resources associated with Economics. The goal of this subject guide is to provide valuable, and relevant information sources for CTC students. Whether you are pursuing a degree or certificate, or just taking a class in Economics this guide will help connect you with books, journals, magazines, websites, videos and more!

How to use this guide:

Navigate through the tabs to find books, databases, and other resources. Each tab contains instruction for accessing and using the provided resources. Learn how to find information, evaluate websites, cite sources, and more!

Research

Not all sources are created equal—you have to evaluate them to make sure they are credible.  Librarians are here to help you every step of the way—whether it's in person, over the phone, via e-mail, or in a live chat session.  Whether you need help finding the necessary sources, figuring out databases, or even checking over your paper, there is a librarian for that!

Teaching Learning Center (TLC)

(Room 202A in the West Wing)

  • Provides training in
    • writing research papers
    • proper citation formats (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian) 
    • avoiding plagiarism and copyright issues
  • In-depth, one-on-one seminars. To request an appointment, email Teaching.Learning@ctcd.edu

RAPRS

Written your paper, but not sure it's quite right?  Use Research Assistance Paper Review Service (RAPRS)!  Any CTC student can submit a final draft of a research paper for a CTC class to the librarians for evaluation; it's easy:

1. CREATE: new email using your CTC EagleMail account

2. Send TO: teaching.learning@ctcd.edu

3. Email SUBJECT: RAPRS

4. ATTACH: Final draft of your research paper (only MS Word is accepted)

5. In body of EagleMail email, provide:

  • Your first and last name
  • CTC ID
  • Description of class/academic endeavor

6. CLICK SEND

This service is offered Monday through Thursday, 9:30-11:30 a.m. and 3:30-5:30 p.m., and Friday through Sunday, 1:30-3:30 p.m.

NOTE: Once received, you will be notified by reply email the library has received your paper for review. Only final drafts of your paper will be accepted. If your paper is not at an acceptable standard, it will be returned to you for correction and resubmission. Research paper reviews will be processed in the order in which they are received.

Disclaimer: Library staff provides guidance, direction and suggestions in the review of papers. As papers are reviewed by different librarians, there will be variances in the response received. Students or instructors may disagree with review suggestions. All questions about the paper should be directed to the instructor.

Systems Librarian

Ashley R. Garcia's picture
Ashley R. Garcia
Contact:
254-6163310

Can't Find What You're Looking For?

Hobby Memorial Library has options available for locating resources you need.

Interlibrary Loans

The ILL department can locate books and journal articles which are not owned in CTC's collection. You can check the Library Catalog for books and hard copy journals or our electronic resources for articles first. For more information on the Library's Interlibrary Loan department, please click the here.

TexShare CARD

The TexShare CARD is another great option for locating resources that are not owned in CTC's collection. The TexShare CARD is a statewide library card that lets you borrow books and other physical materials from more than 500 libraries across the state of Texas! For more information about requesting a TexShare CARD see the library's Circulation desk or you can click here for more information. You can also go to the Texas State Library and Archives Commission's website for additional information about the TexShare CARD program.