Pharmacy Technician: Databases

For a complete list of the Library's Databases, visit www.ctcd.edu/academics/library/databases/ 

1. Please do not use Blackboard, instructor-supplied links, or other sites for access.  Avoid using a military, government, or employer's computer or email address if possible.

2. Open a new window in Firefox or Chrome and go to the Central Texas College homepage and click the Library link at the bottom of the page.

3. From the Library's homepage, select Databases.

4. Databases are arranged alphabetically by title or by subject categories.

5. Click on the category that best meets your search needs to view databases for that subject area.

6. When you click on a database, you will be redirected to a log-in page.  Please follow the log-on instructions.

7.  If you require further assistance, please contact the library at 254-526-1621.

1. Selecting a Database

The Library’s database page is divided into categories by subject area. There are also categories for general resources and references. Hover over any database on the library’s webpage to view a description of its contents. In selecting a database, consider what information you hope to find. Some databases contain scholarly journal articles; others contain films and videos. Some databases provide news sources and reference articles; others contain various information in various formats. Try searching different databases with different content types for the best results.

2. Using and Combining Keywords

Before you begin searching, brainstorm keywords and combinations of keywords that are related to your topic. Think about which aspects of the topic interest you. For example, if your topic is Climate Change, you may be interested in the science behind climate, or you may be more focused on political aspects. You can combine keywords to refine your results and make you are searching more effective.

3. Refining your Results

Most databases have options that allow you to narrow your search results. Some examples to look for include:

• Source type - This can help if you want to limit your search to academic or peer-reviewed journals.
• Publication Date - Chance is you want the most current information on your topic. Usually, you can select a date range. This helps you weed out old information that is no longer relevant.
• Language/Geographic Region -Sometimes, your results list can get bogged down with articles published in another country or written in a different language.

4. Tools and Features

Many databases have tools that can help you organize your research and save your results. Look for tools that allow you to:

• Print
• Download/Save
• Cite
• Export
• Email