Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clinical and Laboratory Evaluation of Human Autoimmune Diseases by
Call Number: REFERENCE RC 600 C565 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
CONTENTS: Concepts of autoimmunity and related topics -- Current and future role of the diagnostic immunology laboratory -- Concepts of autoimmunity and autoimmune diseases -- Human natural autoantibodies: definition, laboratory testing, and clinical significance -- Interrelationships of immunodeficiency, autoimmunity, and malignancies -- Cryoglobulins, immune complexes, and autoimmune diseases -- Complement and autoimmune diseases -- Human cytokines: classification, clinical significance, and laboratory assays -- General considerations in the diagnosis and evaluation of autoimmune diseases -- Systemic autoimmune diseases -- Clinical and laboratory evaluation of systemic lupus erythematosus and lupus-related disorders -- Clinical and laboratory evaluation of rheumatoid arthritis -- Advances in the diagnosis and laboratory evaluation of systemic rheumatic diseases other than rheumatoid arthritis -- Laboratory testing in women with silicone breast implants -- Guidelines for selecting and using laboratory tests for autoantibodies to nuclear, nucleolar, and other related cytoplasmic antigens -- Antiphospholipid-protein antibodies: clinical and laboratory correlation -- Idiopathic vasculitis and antineutrophilic cytoplasmic antibodies -- Organ-directed autoimmune diseases -- Autoimmune skin diseases -- Autoimmune kidney disease -- Autoimmune diseases of the liver -- Autoimmune disease of the gastrointestinal tract -- Autoimmune diseases of muscle: myasthenia gravis and autoimmune myositis -- Autoimmune paraneoplastic syndromes of the central nervous system -- Autoimmune neuropathies -- Autoimmune diseases of the thyroid and adrenal glands -- Autoimmune disorders that influence carbohydrate metabolism -- Autoimmune response and autoimmune lesions in cardiovascular diseases -- Autoimmune disorders of the reproductive system -- General guidelines for the introduction of new tests and standardization of laboratory tests -- General immunologic methods for the evaluation of autoimmune diseases -- Introduction of new tests to the clinical laboratory -- Current status of standards and control materials for laboratory tests.
Clinical Hematology Atlas by
Call Number: RB 145 C26 2013
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
"Ideal for identifying cells at the microscope, this atlas covers the basics of hematologic morphology, including examination of the peripheral blood smear, basic maturation of the blood cell lines, and discussions of a variety of clinical disorders. Over 400 photographs, schematic diagrams, and electron micrographs illustrate hematology from normal cell maturation to the development of various pathologies"
Call Number: QP 91 B53 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-17
Haematology provides a broad-ranging overview of the study of blood, the dynamic fluid that interfaces with all organs and tissues to mediate essential transport and regulatory functions. Written with the needs of the biomedical scientist centre-stage, it provides a firm grounding in the physiology of blood, and the key pathophysiological states that can arise.
Haematology and Immunology by
Call Number: QR 182.55 G75 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-06
Clearly presented in a tried and trusted, easy-to-use format, each book in this series gives complete coverage of the subject in a no-nonsense, user-friendly fashion. Commencing with 'Learning Objectives', each chapter guides you succinctly through the topic, giving coverage of the curriculum whilst avoiding confusing detail.
Introducing Immunology by
Call Number: QR 181 I514 1993
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
This pocket textbook is intended as a guide to the basic concepts of immunology, with a revised section on immunity and components of the immune system.
Allergy, Immunity and Tolerance in Early Childhood by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2015-09-10
Allergy, Immunity and Tolerance in Early Childhood: The First Steps of the Atopic March provides valuable insights on the atopic diseases, including asthma, allergic rhinitis, atopic dermatitis, and food allergies, which have developed into major health problems in most parts of the world. As the natural history of these chronic diseases has been extensively studied, including their major genetic, environmental, and lifestyle determinants and potential protective factors, the book presents tactics on how pediatric allergists can provide early intervention. In addition, the book unites key, global experts in the field who summarize their collective, and current, knowledge of the early stage of the "Atopic March", along with novel ideas for potential options of prevention.
Blood Viscosity by
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
The impact of blood viscosity on health and disease has been neglected, even though viscosity is a fundamental property of any fluid. It is inversely proportional to flow, so increased blood viscosity predisposes to thrombosis. Blood viscosity is directly related to systemic vascular resistance, and so blood viscosity affects blood pressure. Blood viscosity is inversely proportional to perfusion, and increased viscosity adversely affects the performance of all organs. By viewing them through the perspective of viscosity, this book provides fresh insight into atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, hypertension, metabolic syndrome, sepsis, hemolytic anemias, anemia of chronic disease, and aging.
Manual of Molecular and Clinical Laboratory Immunology, Eighth Edition by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The Manual features detailed descriptions of general and specific methodologies, placing special focus on the interpretation of laboratory findings, and covers the immunology of infectious diseases, including specific pathogens, as well as the full range of autoimmune and immunodeficiency diseases, cancer, and transplantation. Written to guide the laboratory director, the Manual will also appeal to other laboratory scientists, especially those working in clinical immunology laboratories, and pathologists. It is also a useful reference for physicians, mid-level providers, medical students, and allied health students with an interest in the role that immunology plays in the clinical laboratory.
The Washington manual hematology and oncology subspecialty consult by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2016
The Washington Manual Hematology and Oncology Subspecialty Consult, 4th Edition, provides quick access to the essential information needed to evaluate a patient on a subspecialty consult service. This edition offers state-of-the-art content, including coverage of new anti-cancer drugs and new biomarkers and therapeutic targets. Ideal for fellows, residents, and medical students rotating on hematology and oncology subspecialty services, the manual is also useful as a first-line resource for internists and other primary care providers.
Wintrobe's atlas of clinical hematology by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2018
Thousands of meticulous, full-color images capture the characteristic appearance of each pathologic entity, and concise descriptions point out features of diagnostic importance. The result is a peerless reference to facilitate confident diagnosis in hematology.