Databases
Interlibrary Loan
While the library has access to a lot of articles, we don't have every one. If there is an article or journal that you want to read and we don't have it, put in an Interlibrary Loan Request! An interlibrary loan is when one library loans another library material for a patron there to use. It usually takes around two weeks for an item to arrive at the destination library after it has been requested. If you have any questions, stop by and talk to the library staff—they'll be glad to help.
Journals
Here is a list of journals that might be helpful in this class. Note some sites grant full access. For full free access to journals, check out the databases.
Child Care in Practice https://www.tandfonline.com/toc/cccp20/current?cookieSet=1
Child Development https://srcd.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/14678624
Child Development Perspective https://srcd.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/17508606
Childhood Education https://www.tandfonline.com/toc/uced20/current
Early Childhood Education https://www.springer.com/journal/10643
Educational Leadership https://www.ascd.org/el
Exceptional Children https://journals.sagepub.com/home/ecx
International Journal of Early Years Education https://www.tandfonline.com/toc/ciey20/current
Journal of Early Intervention https://journals.sagepub.com/home/jei
Journal of Experimental Education https://www.apa.org/pubs/journals/xge
Journal of Educational Research https://journals.sagepub.com/home/ecr
The Lion & the Unicorn https://www.press.jhu.edu/journals/lion-and-unicorn
Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development https://srcd.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/15405834
Phi Delta Kappan https://journals.sagepub.com/home/pdk
Psychology in the Schools https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/15206807
Topics in Early Childhood Special Education https://journals.sagepub.com/home/tec
New Databases
Starting August 30, we will be switching to new databases - Gale
Instructions to Find Gale Resources
- Hit Databases
- Hit General Resources
- Hit Gale Product Menu
- At some point you will hit a log in page. Follow instructions on that page to log in.
- Gale Academic OneFile is the broadest database
- Other databases on that page are more specific
- Gale Product MenuA broad database with many subjects. Gale Academic OneFile is the broadest database, while the others specialize in a subject.
Databases
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand contains educational streaming videos from Films Media Group. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their collection through a robust administrative reporting system. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR offers 15 Arts & Sciences collections that span 60 disciplines, and the Life Science Collection comprises more than 160 journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences. Nearly all of the journals collected in JSTOR are peer-reviewed publications.
