Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Homeland Security Databases
CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reproting and analyes on issues shaping our world including political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, U.S. economy, and related current events. Eash 12,000 word report provides unique, in-depth, unbiased coverage on a pressing political or social issue, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.
Legal Collection database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Military & Government Collection
Military & Government Collection is designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Journal Articles of Interest
The Incredible Shirking Congress
The article reflects upon the Congress in the U.S. as of 2016. Particular focus is given to issues in the legislative, executive and judicial branches of government in the U.S. Additional topics discussed include the presidency of Barack Obama, the Administrative Procedure Act and the author's observations on Constitutionalism.
Congress of the United States
Congress of the United States, the legislative branch of the federal government, instituted (1789) by Article 1 of the Constitution of the United States, which prescribes its membership and defines its powers. Congress is composed of two houses—the Senate and the House of Representatives.
Bicameral system (bīkăm′ərəl), governmental system dividing the legislative function between two chambers, an upper, such as the U.S. Senate and the British House of Lords, and a lower, such as the U.S. House of Representatives and the British House of Commons. Where bicameral legislatures exist, the two chambers are based on different principles of representation in addition to possessing separate functions. Although the term bicameral was coined by Jeremy Bentham as recently as 1832, division of the legislative branch of government according to function and composition is of long standing