Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for a Textbook?
The Library maintains a collection of the most commonly used CTC textbooks. These items can be located by searching the libraries catalog. Books in the Library's reserve collection are located at the library circulation desk. These Items may be checked out for 2-3 hours in-house use only.
Hospitality Textbooks On Reserve:
Introduction to Hospitality by
Call Number: RESERVES HAMG 1321
Publication Date: 2012-03-14
Call Number: RESERVES RSTO 1325
Publication Date: 2011-01-18
Call Number: RESERVES RSTO 1325
Publication Date: 2011-03-08
The Kitchen As Laboratory : reflections on the science of food and cooking by
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
The essays in The Kitchen as Laboratory cover a range of creations and their history and culture. They consider the significance of an eater's background and a dining atmosphere and the importance of a chef's methods, as well as the strategies used to create a great diversity of foods and dishes. This collection will delight experts and amateurs alike, especially as restaurants rely more on science-based cooking and recreational cooks increasingly explore the physics and chemistry behind their art. Contributors end each essay with their personal thoughts on food, cooking, and science, offering rare insight into a professional's passion for playing with food.--DUST JACKET.
Understanding the Hospitality Consumer by
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
'Understanding the Hospitality Consumer' presents a unique perspective on consumer behaviour in the hospitality sector. It seeks to focus on the role of consumption in hospitality and to investigate our understanding of its place in the contemporary industry. Taking the view that successful marketing demands focusing on the customer, this text concentrates on understanding and determining customer needs, relevant factors in consumer buying behaviour and the effectiveness of today's marketing techniques.
Tourism, Globalization and Development by
Publication Date: 2003-07-20
Tourism is booming worldwide -- it makes up a massive part of the global economy. Donald G., Reid's book focuses on tourism in developing and less-developed countries. He examines its social and environmental impact and offers a timely critical analysis of the part it plays in globalization. Many of the world's poorest countries rely on the tourist trade for the major part of their income. However, all too often, the local communities involved do not reap the benefits of this trade. Developers often exclude local communities from the initial planning and decision-making process, viewing them either as a benign resource to be exploited, or as an impediment. Reid presents a rigourous critique of corporate-led tourism development and lays out alternatives that would give planning and control to the local communities involved. He argues that only in this way can the vastly differing requirments of each community be addressed, and social and environmental issues can be dealt with properly. The book includes a discussion of macro planning theory, and offers three case studies of locally controlled projects that show clearly how communities developing a tourist trade can benefit from it.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Tourism by
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Tourism presents a collection of readings that represent an essential and authoritative reference on the state-of-the-art of the interdisciplinary field of tourism studies. Presents a comprehensive and critical overview of tourism studies across the social sciences Introduces emerging topics and reassesses key themes in tourism studies in the light of recent developments Includes 50 newly commissioned essays by leading experts in the social sciences from around the world Contains cutting-edge perspectives on topics that include tourism's role in globalization, sustainable tourism, and the state's role in tourism development Sets an agenda for future tourism research and includes a wealth of bibliographic references
Dictionary of Flavors by
Publication Date: 2017-05-30
The third edition of this highly popular scientific reference continues to provide a unique approach to flavors, flavor chemistry and natural products. Dictionary of Flavors features entries on all flavor ingredients granted G.R.A.S. status, compounds used in the formulation of food flavors, and related food science and technology terms. Allergies and intolerances are addressed, along with strategies to avoid allergenic compounds. This latest edition has been fully updated to reflect new ingredients available on the market, as well as developments in safety standards and the international regulatory arena. Dolf De Rovira applies his extensive experience to make this the most comprehensive guide to flavors available.
Food and Eating in America by
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
This book features a wide and diverse range of primary sources covering the cultivation, preparation, marketing, and consumption of food from the time before Europeans arrived in North America to the present-day United States. It is organized around what the authors label the “Four P’s”—production, politics, price, and preference—in order to show readers that food represents something more than nutrition and the daily meals that keep us alive. The documents in this book demonstrate that food we eat is a “highly condensed social fact” that both reflects and is shaped by politics, economics, culture, religion, region, race, class, and gender.
Mouthfeel : how texture makes taste by
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Collaborating in the laboratory and the kitchen, Ole G. Mouritsen and Klavs Styrbæk investigate the multiple ways in which food texture influences taste. Combining scientific analysis with creative intuition and a sophisticated knowledge of food preparation, they write a one-of-a-kind book for food lovers and food science scholars. By mapping the mechanics of mouthfeel, Mouritsen and Styrbæk advance a greater awareness of its link to our culinary preferences. Gaining insight into the textural properties of raw vegetables, puffed rice, bouillon, or ice cream can help us make healthier and more sustainable food choices. Through mouthfeel, we can recreate the physical feelings of foods we love with other ingredients or learn to latch onto smarter food options. Mastering texture also leads to more adventurous gastronomic experiments in the kitchen, allowing us to reach even greater heights of taste sensation.
Browsing Books in the Library
Books are shelved by call number. Books regarding Hospitality are generally found in the TX section. Some texts relating to travel or tourism can be found in other sections of the library.
TX 901- TX 946.5
Hospitality industry. Hotels, Clubs, Restaurants, etc. Food service.
TX 950- TX 953
Taverns, Barrooms, Saloons
TX 955- TX 985
Building operation and Housekeeping
Search the Catalog
Search Central Texas College Library and Beyond.
Featured Books at the Library
The Complete Guide to the National Park Lodges by
Call Number: TX 907.2 .S36 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-20
The Complete Guide to the National Park Lodges is the only definitive guide of its kind. Each entry includes firsthand information about each property, including room rates, handicap accessibility, reservation phone numbers, exact location within the park, transportation details, facilities, and activities. The authors, National Park experts, tell readers how to leave behind the hassles and headaches and make trip planning painless. Having visited nearly every national park area and lodge in the country, they share their sage advice on how to choose a lodge that will best suit an individual's taste and needs.
Food on the Rails by
Call Number: TF 668 Q56 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
In roughly one hundred years - from the 1870s to the 1970s - dining on trains began, soared to great heights, and then fell to earth. The founders of the first railroad companies cared more about hauling freight than feeding passengers. The only food available on trains in the mid-nineteenth century was whatever passengers brought aboard in their lunch baskets or managed to pick up at a brief station stop. It was hardly fine dining. Seeing the business possibilities in offering long-distance passengers comforts such as beds, toilets, and meals, George Pullman and other pioneering railroaders like Georges Nagelmackers of Orient Express fame, transformed rail travel. Fine dining and wines became the norm for elite railroad travelers by the turn of the twentieth century. Food on the Rails traces the rise and fall of food on the rails from its rocky start to its glory days to its sad demise. Looking at the foods, the service, the rail station restaurants, the menus, they dining accommodations and more, Jeri Quinzio brings to life the history of cuisine and dining in railroad cars from the early days through today.
The Cornell School of Hotel Administration on Hospitality by
Call Number: TX 911.5 C585 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-26
The world's leading school of hotel administration now offers a com-prehensive overview of the hospi-tality industry. Comprised of contributions from twenty-eight Cornell University faculty members, The Cornell School of Hotel Administration on Hospitality outlines all of the best practices and hospitality management strategies they teach to their students. Cornell's book covers cutting edge thinking and practice within four key areas in the hospitality industry. The first section outlines your career path in hospitality. How do you break in? How do you develop yourself to become a leader? Learn the key skills, knowledge, and personality traits that will make this career a good fit for you.
Call Number: TX 909 S25 2007
Publication Date: 2008-12-02
Presents a history of the nineteenth-century first-class hotel, of what hotels have meant to American business, culture, and racial politics.
What Great Service Leaders Know and Do by
Call Number: HF 5415.5 H474 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Entire service businesses have been built around the ideas of Heskett, Sasser, and Schlesinger, pioneers in the world of service. Now they test their ideas against the actual experiences of successful and unsuccessful practitioners, as well as against demands of the future, in a book service leaders around the world will use as a guide for years to come. The authors cover every aspect of optimal service leadership: the best hiring, training, and workplace organization practices; the creation of operating strategies around areas such as facility design, capacity planning, queue management, and more; the use - and misuse - of technology in delivering top-level service; and practices that can transform loyal customers into "owners."
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat by
Call Number: TX 651 N67 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
Whether you've never picked up a knife or you're an accomplished chef, there are only four basic factors that determine how good your food will taste. Salt, Fat, Acid, and Heat are the four cardinal directions of cooking, and they will guide you as you choose which ingredients to use and how to cook them, and they will tell you why last minute adjustments will ensure that food tastes exactly as it should. This book will change the way you think about cooking and eating, and help you find your bearings in any kitchen, with any ingredients, while cooking any meal. -- adapted from introduction.
Acid Trip: Travels in the World of Vinegar by
Call Number: TX 819 V5 T87 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-08
"In [this book, the author] takes readers on a fascinating journey through the world of vinegar. An avid maker of vinegars at home, [the author]traveled throughout North America, France, Italy, Austria, and Japan to learn about vinegar-making practices in places where the art has evolved over centuries. This richly narrated cookbook includes recipes from leading chefs including Daniel Boulud, Barbara Lynch, Michael Anthony, April Bloomfield, Massimo Bottura, Sean Brock, and many others. Dishes range from simple to sophisticated and include Fried Eggs with a Spoonful of Vinegar, Sweet & Sour Peppers, Balsamic Barbecued Ribs, Poulet au Vinaigre, Tomato Tarragon Shrub, and even Vinegar Pie. [The author] also details methods for making your own vinegars with bases as varied as wine, rice, apple cider, and honey. Featuring lush color photographs by the author, [this book] is a captivating story of an obsession and an indispensable reference for any food lover who aspires to make and cook with the best ingredients."--Amazon.com
Peppers of the Americas by
Call Number: SB 307 P4 P74 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
In a visually stunning culinary and ethnobotanical survey of the pepper and its many varieties, a three-time James Beard Award-winning author and chef/restauranteur presents an abundance of information on this essential ingredient central to our multicultural palate, and presents 40 recipes that celebrate its complex flavors and health benefits.
The Potlikker Papers by
Call Number: TX 715.2 S68 E328 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-16
"A people's history that reveals how Southerners shaped American culinary identity and how race relations impacted Southern food culture over six revolutionary decades"--Amazon.com.