Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Construction and Manufacturing Databases
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete features thousands of full-text journals. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information spanning a wide range of important areas of academic study from anthropology to zoology.
Business Abratcts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Business Abstracts contains full text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corportate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews, and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business datase with full text content from magazines journals, reports, SWOT analyses, and industry profiles. It also includes indexing and abstracting for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals
Science & Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains over 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.
Vocational and Career Collection
Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions, and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Journal Articles of Interest
The Construction Industry in the 21st Century.
The article discuses the possible impact of three-dimensional (3D) printing on construction methods during the 21st century. Topics include the significance of 3D printing for the construction industry in relation to productivity and predictability, other forms of construction automation such as a bricklaying robot, and comments by cofounder James Gardiner of the firm FreeFAB
Lean Model for Construction Project Effectiveness Measurement
Construction activities are closely related with effective use of people, machines, materials etc. Poor and work-shy machinery management will result with bigger project costs, project delays generating unnecessary waste. In order to manage better overall machinery this paper shows a model based on a lean manufacturing tool to improve and visualize your construction project management state
Multi-Robot Assembly Strategies and Metrics.
We present a survey of multi-robot assembly applications and methods and describe trends and general insights into the multi-robot assembly problem for industrial applications. We focus on fixtureless assembly strategies featuring two or more robotic systems. Such robotic systems include industrial robot arms, dexterous robotic hands, and autonomous mobile platforms, such as automated guided vehicles. In this survey, we identify the types of assemblies that are enabled by utilizing multiple robots, the algorithms that synchronize the motions of the robots to complete the assembly operations, and the metrics used to assess the quality and performance of the assemblies
RFID-enabled smart real-time manufacturing cost tracking system.
This paper proposes an innovative real-time manufacturing cost tracking system (RT-MCT) which integrates the concepts of lean manufacturing and RFID. The RT-MCT is developed for tying lean operational aspects and financial costs together in real-time. The new real-time cost tracking method is vital in identifying the root causes of redundant costs and pinpointing the most costly root causes and their locations so that their elimination becomes a top priority. Furthermore, RT-MCT mirrors the monetary impacts of implementing lean improvements at the various value stream stages in today's mass-customization production environments that support the decision-making strategies. The system presented is validated through building a simulation model along with extensive calculations to demonstrate that the system is physically implementable using the RFID real-time data
Skill Demands and Mismatch in U.S. Manufacturing.
Recent economic events have sparked debates over the degree of structural mismatch in the U.S. economy. One of the most frequent claims is that workers lack the skills that employers demand. The existing literature, however, analyzes this potential mismatch at a high level of aggregation with abstract indices and noisy proxies that obscure the underlying mechanisms
Using the Earned Value Approach for Controlling Overhead Cost in Construction Projects.
Direct Overhead Cost (DOC) includes all support infrastructure required to complete a construction project. Although it is a dominant factor in every project, very little has been published about ways to manage it. This paper presents an Earned Value approach used for overhead control. It is based on the project's desired profit and the notion that the Earned Value of the money spent on overhead should be proportional to the volume of completed work packages, out of the amount of completed work planned. Using this notion of earned value helps to better control and manage overhead expenses