Tips for Searching Databases
- Selecting a Database - The Library’s database page is divided into categories by subject area. There are also categories for general resources and references. Hover over any database on the library’s webpage to view a description of its contents. In selecting a database, consider what information you hope to find. Some databases contain scholarly journal articles; others contain films and videos. Some databases provide news sources and reference articles; others contain various information formats. Try searching different databases with different content types for the best results.
- Using and Combining Keywords - Brainstorm keywords and combinations related to your topic before searching. Think about which aspects of the topic interest you. For example, if your topic is Climate Change, you may be interested in the science behind climate, or you may be more focused on political aspects. You can combine keywords to refine your results and make your search more effective.
- Refining your Results - Most databases have options that allow you to narrow your search results. Some examples to look for the following:
- Source type - This can help if you want to limit your search to academic or peer-reviewed journals.
- Publication Date - Chances are, you want the most current information on your topic. Usually, you can select a date range. This helps you weed out old information that is no longer relevant.
- Language/Geographic Region - Sometimes, your results list can get bogged down with articles published in another country or written in another language.
- Tools and Features - Many databases have tools that can help you organize your research and save your results. Look for tools that allow you to: Print * Download/Save * Cite * Export * Email
Types of Journals
Not all journals are created equal, and not all will be appropriate for every research need. These are the most common types of journals you are likely to encounter in your research, presented in order from most to least academic:
- Scholarly Journals: reports of original research, theoretical, experimental, or applied; many are refereed/peer-reviewed
- Trade/Professional Journals: current trends, news & events in a particular field; some are peer-reviewed
- Journals of Commentary or Opinion: commentary on political & social issues; often a source of specific political viewpoint, e.g., conservative, liberal, or specific interest group
- Newspapers: current information, news stories, local & regional focus
- Popular Magazines: current events & news; primary source for popular culture
Open Access Databases
- Acta Agrobotanica Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Acta Agrobotanica publishes mainly significant, original research papers presenting the results new to the biology of cultivable or wild plants accompanying crops.
- Aggie Horticulture This link opens in a new windowAggie Horticulture began serving gardening and horticultural crop production information in October, 1994. Their factsheets, guides and databases are based on years of testing and practice. More than 50 teachers, scientists, and Extension specialists contribute their work to this website. Their goal is to serve the students, producers, professionals and gardeners of Texas?and the World.
- JSTOR Open Access This link opens in a new windowFeatures academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere.
Featured Databases
- Agricultural and Environmental DatabaseAgricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science DatabaseThe Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments.
- Materials Science and Engineering DatabaseThe Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
- Natural Science CollectionThe Natural Science Collection includes the Agri & Env, Bio Science, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline
- SciTech Collection PremiumThe SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.