Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Protective Services Databases
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete features thousands of full-text journals. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information spanning a wide range of important areas of academic study from anthropology to zoology.
CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reproting and analyes on issues shaping our world including political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, U.S. economy, and related current events. Eash 12,000 word report provides unique, in-depth, unbiased coverage on a pressing political or social issue, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.
Criminal Justice Database
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and and crime trends. This database includes articles from U.S. and international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, and crime blogs.
Legal Collection database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Military & Government Collection
Military & Government Collection is designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Articles of Interest - Fire Science
Articles of Interest - Police Science
A Comprehensive Study of Police Preparedness and Training for Effectively Responding to and Stopping Active Shooters in the U.S.
Active shootings are an unfortunate part of society that negatively impacts Americans emotionally, financially, and physically. Mass killings have prompted police agencies to evaluate training and response tactics for stopping active shooters. Empirical research on training and preparing police officers how to respond to and to stop active shooters is non-existent
Digital Visual Media Forensics and The Theory of Evidence
Over the years, the evidence theory has found application in a number of areas, including but not limited to system diagnosis, fault diagnosis, forecasting, image steganalysis, image understanding and classification, speech recognition, decision support systems, multi–sensor fusion, target identification, medical expert systems, medical applications such as insect disease detection and skin disease detection, and biometric applications such as signature, fingerprint, and hand recognition systems.
Problem based learning in law enforcement in-service training: A study of use of force
The use of force by the police has been a topic of interest among academics and among American society. Police training has long been a factor that has been considered when administrators, policymakers, or society at-large considers the acts of force utilized by the police. The amount of training has been studied with a negative correlation between the number of training hours and the number of use of force incidents.
Sniff test: Utilization of the law enforcement canine in the seizure of paper currency
This paper examines the police canine's role in creating a nexus between confiscated currency and drugs. Additionally, this paper examines the roles that the canine handler and evidence collector play in the collection of currency and in maintaining a chain of evidence. Suggestions are presented for the creation of new policy for police agencies that utilize a canine to seize money allegedly involved in the sale of drugs.