Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Homeland Security Databases
Legal Collection database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Military & Government Collection
Military & Government Collection is designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Journal Articles of Interest
Crisis of Knowledge: The Importance of Educating the Public About the Role of Fair and Impartial Courts in Our System of Government.
The article discusses how decline of quality civic education in schools is affecting knowledge of Constitutional rights and government in the U.S. Topics discussed include Florida Bar's Constitutional Judiciary Committee in preparing teachers for this civic education; importance of civics education in democracy; and ways to educate people about the role of fair and impartial courts in the U.S. system of government.
Drug Courts: the Criminal Justice System Rolls the Rock
The United States leads the entire world in both the gross number of incarcerated individuals, and also the rate at which we lock up our offenders. Most of those incarcerated in our nation's prisons and jails are substance-abusing non-violent offenders who are likely destined to return to substance abuse on their release and to re-offend.
Courts and the Law Enforcement System.
The article discusses the mechanisms used by appeals courts when reviewing cases. The empirical data shows that there are discrepancies between the annulment of convictions and the annulment of acquittals.
American Military Justice: Responding to the Siren Songs for Reform.
The article examine the American military justice system and discusses proposed reforms in the military justice, as of June 2015. Topics discussed include need of reforms to several component of the military system including pretrial processing of charges, court-martial jurisdiction and the role of the commander; consequences of restricting court-martial jurisdiction; and need of changes in the laws that define commander's prosecutorial discretion in the system.