Medical Laboratory Technology: Phlebotomy and Serology

The book "reviews the roles and responsibilities of the phlebotomist and covers the latest standards and guidelines according to ISO, NAACLS, CLSI, CLIA, OSHA, Universal Precautions, as well as current HIPAA regulations. Each chapter of this accessible text includes tools for student success with Outlines, Objectives, Key Terms with Definitions, Critical Thinking Questions, Sample Review Questions with Answer Keys, and helpful Website References. This full-color text includes over 200 illustrations, photos, and tables to enhance student comprehension and retention."--Publisher description

Phlebotomy: Procedures and Practices is written for those who are already working in health care or who are taking related health courses and have an understanding of basic concepts. Through clearly presented explanations and illustrated step-by-step procedures this handbook provides the information needed to quickly learn phlebotomy.

Designed for beginning health care students and practitioners, Phlebotomy Simplified, Second Edition is an easy, step-by-step, practice-oriented approach to blood collection procedures for use in diverse settings, including hospitals, ambulatory clinics, home health care, and pediatric clinics. It brings together all the entry-level competencies healthcare workers need, including communication, clinical, technical, and safety skills.

This book discusses the global attitudes regarding blood donations, its safety and future directions. Chapter One provides a brief overview of the ethics of blood donations. Chapter Two focuses on the epidemiological aspects of the hepatitis C virus infection among seekers of serological tests in blood banks in Pará, Brazilian Amazon. Chapter Three discusses statistical control of the production of blood components using variables and attributes charts, and capacity indexes. Chapter Four demonstrates the use of cluster analysis and item response theory for the assessment of transfusion-related knowledge of nurses. Chapter Five reviews a quantitative/qualitative approach to better understand motivations of apheresis donors in Quebec, Canada.

Venepuncture and Cannulation – A Practical Guide offers an easy-to-read, comprehensive account of the practical procedures of venepuncture and intravenous cannulation. It provides the underlying theory and underpinning knowledge required, as well as a step-by-step approach that will enable healthcare practitioners to carry out these procedures safely, efficiently and with confidence.